top of page

Bitgem June Game Jam - One v one Mayan Dungeon Soccer

Started this BitGem game jam thinking I could knock up a 5 a side football game over the world cup period, how wrong I was. I started my Mayan/Dungeon Speedball esq idea by knocking up the graphics first to inspire my mind and to help me work out how I was going to develop the game AI. After 2 days of very little progress I realised that I had bitten off way more than I could chew. The complexity of building a player AI in the time I had was beyond my knowledge and capacity to deliver. I was not disappointed because in those 2 days I had figured out how I might have been able to do this and in the process managed my expectations for what was achievable in the time frame. So not wanting to deviate from my original idea I went with a 1 v 1 style 2 player game which was a more realistic goal for me and my current coding abilities. Cutting the story short I have really enjoyed this development project and learnt an enormous amount especially with regard to building the states of the game and just how messy and complex things get with multiple levels of nested logic and numerous transitions between states. To be honest I know that I have not done a great job from a coding perspective but it does work and I know for next time what I need to do better. Had loads of issues with audio, particles and gui but again great learning through the process. Anyway, I hope that those who have a play like what I have done.


  • Unity3d
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Classic

COMING SOON

bottom of page